The Food Brie Cooked and Baked

A record of every food cooked or baked in my kitchen in 2010

36. German chocolate cake

leave a comment »

Recipe source: my trusty Betty Crocker cookbook

When my mother-in-law requested a German chocolate cake for her birthday party, BP and I wrinkled our noses. “I don’t like German chocolate cake” was our simultaneous response.

But, Mother-in-Law is the best MIL in the whole world, and we love her, and it was, after all, her birthday. So, I consulted Betty Crocker, made my grocery list and got to work.

You’ll never guess what happened. (Or maybe you will.)

It was good.

Let me repeat that: it was good. Very, very good. In fact, it was mouth-watering-I-don’t-know-if-I-can-stop-at-one-piece good.

Turns out, real, homemade German chocolate cake is a delicious masterpiece. Grocery stores and America’s zest for convenience (in the form of boxed German chocolate cake mix and canned pre-made frosting) have given German chocolate cake an undeserved bad rap.

And now I feel really sorry for all of you who think you don’t like German chocolate cake but have never actually had the opportunity to taste a real German chocolate cake. I was there once. I understand.

But now is the time to give it another chance. Make this your year of the German chocolate cake second chance.

German chocolate cake

German chocolate cake

Written by louise914

March 15, 2010 at 8:17 pm

Leave a Reply

