The Food Brie Cooked and Baked

A record of every food cooked or baked in my kitchen in 2010

24. cheese souffle pudding

with one comment

Recipe source: my mom

My mom made this every Christmas morning that I can remember. It’s one of those dishes that is loaded with memories. And, it’s all kinds of bad for you, which means that it falls into the category of Brie’s Comfort Foods.

BP and I had a lot of bread and eggs to use up in the kitchen, and so BP requested that I make this recipe (even though it is breaking from the Christmas morning-only tradition). He helped me put the dish together this morning before work. He’s awesome like that.

cheese souffle pudding

Cheese Souffle Pudding

Butter 6 slices bread (crusts removed). Lay in greased baking dish.

Slice Velveeta and lay on top of bread.

Repeat, for a total of four layers.

Whisk together:

4 beaten eggs

2 heaping tsp. dry mustard

1/2 tsp. salt

2 1/2 c. milk

Pour mixture over bread and cheese. Let stand overnight in the refrigerator.

Bake 1 1/2 hours at 325. Cover with foil for the first hour, then remove the foil and let the top of souffle brown.

Written by louise914

February 11, 2010 at 7:39 pm

Posted in bread, cheese, eggs

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] level of perfection, but this recipe comes close, and since I had Velveeta leftover from the cheese souffle pudding, I thought I’d make this for […]


Leave a Reply

